Plapp win’s Australian TT title

Plapp win’s Australian TT title

2024 new recruit Luke Plapp made it a dream start to life in Team Jayco AlUla colours as he claimed the Australian Time Trial Championship for the second time ahead of teammates Chris Harper and Michael Hepburn.

The 23-year-old was a red hot favourite for the title in Ballarat and he demonstrated why, as he powered around the 37.5km course in a time of 46:19:54 to take the victory by 32 seconds over Harper.

It was a memorable day and start to the 2024 season for Team Jayco AlUla as they made it a clean sweep of the podium placings with Harper taking the silver medal, while former champion Hepburn took home the bronze. Kell O’Brien made it four Team Jayco AlUla riders in the top four.

Luke Plapp – Winner:
“It’s special, I feel like I’m back home being in Team Jayco AlUla and I’m back in the green and gold stripes in the TT, I really missed these stripes since 2021.

It’s amazing being back in them, the team has been amazing in the build up to the race and to have all four of us as the top four is very, very exciting going into Sunday and hopefully the boys can pull off another win in the crit tomorrow night.”

2024 Australian Time Trial Championships:
1. Luke Plapp (Team Jayco AlUla) 46:19:54
2. Chris Harper (Team Jayco AlUla) +00:32.71
3. Michael Hepburn (Team Jayco AlUla) +00:55.01