Filippo Zana wins Stage 18 of the Giro d’Italia

Filippo Zana wins Stage 18 of the Giro d’Italia

Filippo Zana (Team Jayco AlUla) has won Stage 18 of the 106th Giro d’Italia, the 161km long Oderzo-Val di Zoldo. Thibaut Pinot (Groupama – FDJ) and Warren Barguil (Team Arkéa Samsic) finished second and third respectively.

Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) retains the Maglia Rosa.

1 – Filippo Zana (Team Jayco AlUla) – 161 km in 4h25’12″, average speed 36.425 km/h
2 – Thibaut Pinot (Groupama – FDJ) s.t.
3 – Warren Barguil (Team Arkéa Samsic) at 50″

1 – Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) 
2 – Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) at 29″
3 – João Pedro Gonçalves Almeida (UAE Team Emirates) at 39″

Speaking seconds after the finish, the stage winner Filippo Zana said: “I still can’t believe it. I have to thank the team because they gave me this opportunity. I arrived at the Giro at 100%. I played my cards right in the final, it was an opportunity of those that come around a few times in life and I took it. To win wearing the Tricolore is something special.”

The Maglia RosaGeraint Thomas said: “It’s a pleasant day. I take time on Almeida and didn’t get dropped by Primoz. I felt pretty good, always under control but Primoz obviously went hard. It wasn’t easy. It’s nice to have doubled the advantage over Almeida but Primoz had a bad day the other day, Almeida today, I just want to be consistent till the end.”