Jai Hindley wins the 105th Giro d’Italia, Matteo Sobrero wins Stage 21

Jai Hindley wins the 105th Giro d’Italia, Matteo Sobrero wins Stage 21

 Jai Hindley (Bora-Hansgrohe) has won the 105th Giro d’Italia, wearing the final Maglia Rosa of the General Classification leader and raising the Trofeo Senza Fine. Richard Carapaz (Ineos Grenadiers) and Mikel Landa Meana (Bahrain Victorious) finished second and third.

Matteo Sobrero (Team BikeExchange-Jayco) won Stage 21, the 17.4km Cronometro delle Colline Veronesi TISSOT ITT. Thymen Arensman (Team DSM) and Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) finished second and third, respectively.

1 – Jai Hindley (Bora-Hansgrohe)
2 – Richard Carapaz (Ineos Grenadiers) at 1’18”
3 – Mikel Landa Meana (Bahrain Victorious) at 3’24”

1 – Matteo Sobrero (Team BikeExchange-Jayco) –  17.4km in 22’24″54, average speed 46.607 km/h
2 – Thymen Arensman (Team DSM) a 22″63
3 – Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) a 39″70

The winner of the Giro d’Italia, Jai Hindley said: “I had in the back of my mind what happened in 2020 and I wasn’t going to let that happen again. I was getting updates and I felt pretty good on the bike. So in the end I could take corners cautiously. I’m a proud Australian and I’m delighted to take this win home, being the first Australian to win the Giro d’Italia.”

Speaking seconds after the stage finish, the stage winner, Matteo Sobrero said: “It’s an amazing feeling. It’s our second ITT win after Stage 2 with Simon Yates. It’s the result of a great work in the off season. I gave everything in the second part of the race. It’s unbelievable to succeed to Filippo Ganna. I think he’s proud of me today, we’re big friends.”