Kristoff clinches victory at Deutschland Tour

The 25th victory of the UAE Team Emirates season arrived on stage 2 of the Deutschland Tour courtesy of Alexander Kristoff.
The Norwegian rider, claiming his first success in 2021, won in the uphill finish over 180.6 km by out-sprinting Phil Bauhaus (Bahrain-Victorious) and Pascal Ackermann ( Bora-hansgrohe).
Kristoff faced favourable conditions with cold and rain that suited his characteristics on the final straight of 300 meters on a slight ascent. The Norwegian teamed up with his compatriot Sven Erik Bystrøm for the launch of the sprint, passing Bauhaus at the last moment. Bystrøm crossed the line in 5th position.
In the general classification, Pascal Ackermann still leads the race, while Kristoff moved up to 3rd place (+4 ”).
Kristoff: “It is a beautiful victory that makes me happy. I have a good relationship with Germany, I have won here more than once, also winning in my last participation in the Deutschland Tour. On that occasion the climatic conditions were similar to those of today: although I am not fond of cold and rain , I can achieve excellent performance with such conditions.”
I have long waited for the return to success. Up to now my season had not been good, even though I had already come close to winning at the Tour of Norway. Now I have finally managed to get a win.
The end of the stage was very technical, it was essential to be at the final corner in the top 5. I managed to be in the right place and I also had Bystrøm with me to launch into the sprint.
I started the sprint first, then Bauhaus overtook me and I got on his wheel and then passed him near the finish line again.
The gap between the two of us wasn’t much, I wasn’t sure if I had won, then I saw the images of the sprint and I was able to celebrate properly”.
The third stage will start from Ilmenau and will end after 193.9 km in Erlangen: with a 1.5 km stretch (5.2% average gradient) located 9 km from the finish which could represent a springboard for some attacks.
Order of arrival 2nd stage – Deutschland Tour
1. Alexander Kristoff (UAE Team Emirates) 4h24’12 “
2. Phil Bauhaus (Bahrain-Victorious) s.t.
3. Pascal Ackermann (Bora-hansgrohe) s.t.